Hubcap Grill – Houston, TX

IMG_2860

I recently made the long awaited visit to The Hubcap Grill in Houston, TX. The Hubcap Grill is a staple in the burger scene in Houston. Featured on many top burger lists, Hubcap Grill has a reputation that is second to none. They pride themselves on serving fantastic food and drinks while providing an atmosphere to please all.

I headed to the Hubcap Grill on a Saturday afternoon. As I pulled in to the dirt parking lot, I noticed that there was already a crowd gathering near the front. Crowds are most often a sign of one thing: good food.

The menu board hanging over the order window was daunting. There were so many choices. From simple to spectacular, all of the burgers sounded delicious. The Hubcap grill offers many novelty burgers, but if you’re a frequent reader you know I kept it simple. I ordered a double cheeseburger. Two 1/3 patties stacked with lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles and mayo.

I did, however, go for the novelty factor with the fries. I decided on the Hell Fries. Fresh cut potatoes covered with jalapenos, cayenne pepper, and sriracha mayo. Sounded spicy enough; I can’t wait.

Fortunately my burger was ready after about ten minutes. I grabbed my tray full of goodies and had a seat at a picnic table around the side of the building. I couldn’t help but grin at the sight of the burger. This was one of the biggest burgers I’ve ever come across. It must have stood 8 inches tall. The burger patties looked way bigger than I had anticipated. Add to that the thick tomato and onion, this burger was a behemoth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My first bite into the beast almost dislocated my jaw. I felt a little like Guy Fieri. I really had to concentrate on how to approach this burger. The flavor of the beef was beyond comparison. Buttery, airy, expertly seasoned and cooked to a perfect medium well. The cheese melted between the patties adding even more savoriness. The veggies were fresh and complimented well. I was impressed to say the least.

The Hell Fries were the bomb. Cut and fried fresh; Hot and spicy. No need to say more.

Now, don’t get me wrong, this food was AMAZING. But I came nowhere near close to finishing all of this. Between the burger and fries, there must have been three pounds of food on my tray. Be warned- the portions live up to the Texas standard.

Above all else, the atmosphere at the Hubcap Grill trumps that of any other burger joint in Houston. Order at the window, grab a cold beer or craft soda, and head around behind the building to a picnic table. The junkyard decor, mixed with the mishmash of picnic tables, makes for a relaxed setting. This is a great place to chill with friends and enjoy the great Texas weather.

If at all possible, don’t skip the Hubcap Grill!
Hubcap Grill on Urbanspoon
Hubcap Grill
1133 W 19th St
Houston, TX 77008
(713) 862-0555

Leave a Reply

