BurgerFi – The Woodlands, TX

IMG_2178
This week I visited the newly opened BurgerFi in The Woodlands, TX. BurgerFi is a national burger chain with most locations spread throughout the Eastern United States and a handful of locations in Texas. This growing restaurant chain runs on a model that embraces locally sourced, all natural products, served fresh in a fast-paced environment. BurgerFi puts customization in the hands of the customer with a seemingly endless menu of burgers, dogs, fries, and custard desserts. In addition to their food menu, BurgerFi offers an ample selection of wine and craft beers.

I stumbled upon BurgerFi by accident. Recently returning from Minnesota, my wife and I headed to The Woodlands to meet up with some friends. As we sauntered out of the parking garage, I saw it. A brand new burger joint; And it looked like it was to open soon! The first thing that came to mind was, “I’ve gotta do a review!” This thought was immediately followed by, “I’ve gotta get a hold of Brad Meyer!”

Brad Meyer is a local reporter, photographer, and food critic for the Conroe Courier newspaper. Aside from writing for the paper, Brad, along with his friend Mark Hayter, did YouTube video reviews of almost every restaurant in the area. When I first came across the videos, I was immediately hooked. These guys were honest, funny, and superbly informative. I contacted Brad and asked if he would like to team up for a review of BurgerFi. After a few emails back and forth, we set up a time to visit.

Brad and I met up at BurgerFi on a Friday for lunch. We arrived shortly before noon and found the restaurant to be moderately busy. The inside of the restaurant had a really cool and unique décor. Brad described it as a sort of chic industrial look. We got in line and started looking over the menu.

The menus were displayed on televisions above the counter. I grabbed a paper menu and started looking at the different types of burgers. I wanted to keep it simple on my first trip so I decided upon the BurgerFi Cheeseburger. This burger came with two natural Angus patties, two slices of American cheese, lettuce, tomato, and BurgerFi sauce. I decided to add bacon for an extra $1.57. I also ordered a side of their Cry & Fries (onion rings and fresh cut French fries).

Our food was ready after about ten minutes. We were given two aluminum trays lined with paper. One had both of our burgers, wrapped in paper sleeves, and the other held a mountain of French fries and onion rings. The fries were in two separate baskets, but it was impossible to see under that pile.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This burger was wonderful. I bit the burger and the burger bit back! The first thing I tasted was the beef. The meat was well seasoned and juicy. It had a good saltiness, without being too salty. Just enough to make your tongue say, “Hey!” The cheese was layered between the patties and melted perfectly.

The BurgerFi sauce had a wonderful tang to it. It was hard for me to pinpoint exactly what this sauce was made from. It had a dark pink color and was spread evenly on the top bun. The sauce was nowhere near overpowering, as can be the case with some burgers. It had a creamy feel with a savory bite.

The bun that the burgers were served on seemed to be freshly baked. They were nice and fluffy while not being too thick. And, they held up surprisingly well. My bun did not collapse, smash, or get soggy and held its texture throughout the meal. BurgerFi also knows that the key to making a good bun into a great bun is toasting.

My only complaint had nothing to do with the burger, but the bacon. For $1.57, I was expecting nice thick-cut bacon. But instead I got a few small pieces of thin almost non-existent bacon strips. It had the texture of that odd microwave bacon that comes in a little black box. Skip the bacon.

Aside from the burger, the onion rings blew me away. I almost never order onion rings at restaurants. Breaded onion rings are not really too appealing to me, but I do occasionally enjoy battered onion rings. These onion rings were wide cut and battered and fried perfectly. The onion inside was soft and meaty, while the batter provided an excellent crunch!

The fries were good as well. BurgerFi serves freshly cut fries. These are comparable to almost any place that serves fresh cut fries. The only difference that I saw was that there were several types of seasonings available to add on to the fries such as: salt & vinegar, parmesan cheese and herbs, and chili and cheese sauces.

Overall, BurgerFi is a wonderful addition to the Woodlands Waterway. The food is good, hot, and fast. The service is excellent, and the environment in the restaurant is very welcoming. The location is almost perfect as well! Located almost directly across the street from the Cinemark Theaters, BurgerFi is a great choice for lunch or dinner before a movie.

I highly recommend BurgerFi for anyone looking for a fantastic burger experience in The Woodlands.

I would also like to thank Brad Meyer for teaming up with me for this review.  Be sure to pick up a copy of the Conroe Courier this Thursday, August 1st, to see the article or click here to read it online: http://tinyurl.com/kpjeg64

Please visit http://www.yourhoustonnews.com/courier/ to see more articles by Brad.

Also, be sure to check out his YouTube channel for great reviews of area restaurants at: http://www.youtube.com/BradMeyerTexas

BurgerFi

1501 Lake Robbins Dr.

The Woodlands, TX 77380

BurgerFi on Urbanspoon

//

Leave a Reply

