Red Brick Tavern – Conroe, TX

IMG_1728

This week I visited The Red Brick Tavern in Conroe, TX. Located in downtown Conroe, the Red Brick Tavern serves up delicious food at reasonable prices. Their menu consists of a variety of cuisines ranging from pizzas to burgers as well as steaks. Although it may be a small place, Red Brick Tavern packs a culinary punch to the mouth!

Tyler and I headed here on a Wednesday night around 7:00. As we entered we were immediately greeted by a waitress who gave us a choice of where to sit. We decided to have a seat at the bar. One of the first things I noticed was the smell. The aroma of freshly baked pizzas filled the air! I looked toward the kitchen and saw that they are baking pizzas in a brick fired oven.

We took our seats at the bar and were taken care of by the bartender. The bar serves up many different locally brewed beers as well as wine and liquor. They had two TV’s behind the bar with baseball and hockey games on. There were several people seated in the bar area and the atmosphere was very comfortable. After looking over the menu for a few minutes, I decided on the Tavern Cheeseburger with cheddar cheese while Tyler ordered a black bean burger.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our food came out after about ten minutes. Our burgers were presented very simply on a flat white plate alongside french fries. The were two slices of fresh (unprocessed) cheddar cheese perfectly melted on my burger. It looked and smelled awesome. I could hardly wait to snap a few pictures and dig in.

I ordered my burger cooked medium-well and it came out perfect. The meat was just on the other side of being pink in the middle. The beef was seasoned very simply and had a great texture. I could tell that the meat had not been packed too tight, which made for a very savory and juicy bite. I did not add any veggies or sauces to this burger. The bun was expertly buttered and toasted and made for a nice background to the beef and cheese.

This, I would say for now, is the best burger I’ve had in Conroe. I would even say the best burger I’ve had in the Houston area. The Red Brick Tavern hit the nail on the head when it came to burgers. The burger did not need any fancy toppings or sauces to make it better. Wonderfully done.

Tyler said that the Black Bean Burger was ok. It was nothing too special, but it was not bad. The french fries were average fries, no complaints.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for good food at good prices in Conroe! BooYah!
The Red Brick Tavern on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

