Burger Fresh – Conroe, TX

bfresh 003

Yesterday was National Burger Day. I decided to celebrate with my friend Tyler by visiting Burger Fresh in Conroe, TX. Burger Fresh is a local burger joint that supposedly serves up freshly made burgers, real ice cream shakes, and hot french fries. A few years ago they were even featured in Texas Monthly magazine as having one of the best burgers in the state.

I have been told by several locals that this is the place to go for a good burger in Conroe. Brad Meyer, a local food critic for the Conroe Courier, even recommended this place to me.  Despite all of this, I was a bit apprehensive to try it. From what I have seen from online customer reviews, the quality is not what it used to be.

Tyler and I headed here at a little after 6:00 pm. The outside of the restaurant had daily specials painted on all of the windows. There was only one other car in the parking lot. We walked in to a nearly empty restaurant. The only other people there were the two working the kitchen and counter.

Burger Fresh’s menu is huge! They offer different size burgers, special burgers, fried stuff, ice cream, and other specials. I decided upon a double cheeseburger with fries and a drink while Tyler found a bacon avocado burger with fries.

We took a seat and our food arrived within minutes. The burgers came wrapped in paper alongside of hot fries in a plastic red basket. I unwrapped my burger and took in how great it looked. The cheese was melted, the bun was toasted, and the burger was thick. Looks good.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At first bite I was more than underwhelmed. I could tell that the beef was not fresh. Burger Fresh was serving frozen patties. And compared to the frozen patties from most fast food joints, these had little taste. The quality of the meat was only slightly better than what you would find in most school cafeteria hamburgers.

The cheese was good. The lettuce and onions were fine. But the most overriding flavor was the mustard. I’m not a huge fan of mustard in the first place. This burger was dripping with mustard. My burger just did not hit the spot for me and I left half of it uneaten. (Which, if you know me, is rare . I’m usually the president of the clean plate club!)

Tyler enjoyed his burger slightly more than I did. I think this was due to the fresh avocado and quality bacon that came on his burger rather than the meat itself.

The fries were OK. They were not fresh cut and could have used salt and pepper right out of the fryer.

Overall, I was not impressed with my first (and probably last) trip to Burger Fresh. My order rang in at $11. Not worth that much in my opinion. I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a good burger in Conroe when there are several better choices within a few miles of this place.

Tyler and I also agreed that the name Burger Fresh is a bit misleading. Maybe this was true when they were featured in Texas Monthly but since then, the quality is definitely not fresh.

“Not so Burger Fresh”- Bruce
Burger Fresh on Urbanspoon

Burger Fresh on Foodio54

Leave a Reply

